Fondation des États-Unis | Jeudi 5 juillet à 19h30 : James Hall
22941
single,single-post,postid-22941,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
header hall2

Jeudi 5 juillet à 19h30 : James Hall

United-States-site

 

Le flûtiste américain James Hall revient à FEU, accompagné par le pianiste namibien Willem Van Schalkwyk pour un programme de musiques à fortes consonances françaises et américaines. Le programme comprend Nocturne et allegro scherzando de Gaubert, la Sonate pour flûte et piano de Poulenc, Canzone de Samuel Barber, la Sonate en la majeur de Franck et Sinfonische Kanzone de Karg-Elert.

Entrée libre, réservation souhaitée :
Inscription en ligne
Rejoignez l’événement Facebook pour recevoir un rappel !

Programme

 
Philippe Gaubert (1879-1941)
Nocturne et allegro scherzando

Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1933)
Sinfonische Kanzone

Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
Sonata
Allegretto malincolico
Cantilena
Presto giocoso

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Canzone

César Franck (1822-1890)
Sonata in A Major
Allegro ben moderato
Allegro
Ben moderato
Allegretto poco mosso

Biographies des musiciens

 
Le flûtiste, James Hall mène une carrière impressionnante et variée en tant que soliste international, chambriste et musicien d’orchestre, et professeur. Il a joué avec Joshua Roman, Eileen Eivers, Jennifer Koh, Paquito D’Rivera, Benny Kim, Carol Wincenc, Allan Vogel, Robert Weirich, Jim Walker, Art Garfunkel, Pink Martini, Carter Enyeart, Catalyst Quartet, Boulder Bach Festival et Colorado Symphony. Le journal Kansas City Star qualifie cet artiste polyvalent et passionnant d’« extraordinaire » et le critique du Denver Musical Weekly qualifie sa performance de flûtiste comme «… la meilleure à laquelle il a assisté dans sa vie ».
Comme soliste, James a joué avec l’Orquesta Nacional del Paraguay, le Kansas City Civic Orchestra, le Greeley Philharmonic, l’Orquesta Nacional de Panamá, l’Orquesta del Congresso Nacional del Paraguay et le Southeast Kansas Symphony. Après avoir délivré son premier récital au Carnegie Hall en tant que lauréat de Artists International en 2004, James a commencé à se faire inviter en tant que récitaliste, et s’est depuis lors produit à travers l’Amérique du Nord, Centrale et du Sud, l’Afrique, l’Europe et l’Asie. Il est la moitié de Duo 1610, avec le pianiste Willem Van Schalkwyk, et les deux tournent dans le monde entier en interprétant des œuvres pour flûte et piano, allant du style baroque au contemporain.
Hall est le fondateur, flûtiste et directeur artistique de l’Association de Musique de Chambre de Kansas City, qui a fait des débuts très remarqués par la critique en 2003. Ce groupe réunit des musiciens aux profils internationaux, vivant et travaillant à Kansas City, pour donner des prestations de classe mondiale du répertoire de musique de chambre pour instrumentation mixte. Se produisant dans des lieux de concert atypiques, comme des galeries d’art, des entreprises de design et des résidences de mécènes, le CMSKC a apporté une forme d’art musical importante au public de Kansas City, les concerts ayant été accueillis avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme lors de représentations à guichets fermés.
En tant qu’enseignant, James a dispensé des master-classes au sein de conservatoires nationaux et des écoles de musique aux États-Unis, Canada, Brésil, l’Argentine, l’Uruguay, Paraguay, l’Afrique du Sud, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombie, Thaïlande et en Suisse.  Depuis 2009, il est professeur de flûte à l’Université du Nord Colorado où il a eu la chance de travailler avec de nombreux jeunes musiciens talentueux.
James utilise la marque Burkart Flutes et se produit exclusivement avec sa flûte Burkart Elite plaquée or 10 carats fait main avec le côté embouchure en platine.

Applaudi par la Salt Lake City Tribune pour sa « maturité au-delà de ses années » et ses « installations techniques vertigineuses », le pianiste namibien Willem van Schalkwyk, fait ses débuts avec l’Orchestre symphonique national de Namibie à l’âge de quatorze ans et, à seize ans, remporte son premier concours international de piano en France.
Willem se produit en concert aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Afrique australe. Parmi les apparitions avec orchestre, mentionnons le Troisième Concerto pour piano de Rachmaninov et le Premier Concerto pour piano de Tchaïkovski en Namibie, ainsi que les Concertos pour deux et trois pianos de Mozart en Utah. Récemment, il s’est produit régulièrement au Greyton Music Festival en Afrique du Sud et a présenté un récital solo dans le cadre du 25e anniversaire du National Theatre of Namibia. En tant qu’artiste collaborateur, M. Van Schalkwyk s’est produit avec de nombreux artistes réputés, dont des instrumentistes du New York Philharmonic Orchestra, du Chicago Symphony Orchestra, du San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, du Metropolitan Opera Orchestra et de l’Utah Symphony Orchestra. En 2015, il part en tournée en Argentine et en Uruguay avec James Hall.
Van Schalkwyk est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en interprétation du piano de la Brigham Young University, et il obtient son doctorat en interprétation du piano à l’Université du Nord du Texas en 2009. À l’UNT, ses principaux instructeurs étaient Joseph Banowetz, Elvia Puccinelli et Adam Wodnicki. Tout en poursuivant ses études supérieures, il remporte le premier prix du Scionti Piano Competition et reçoit le prix du public au Louisiana International Piano Competition.
En tant que professeur de chant et pianiste, Willem a composé le personnel musical de l’Opéra de Santa Fe, de l’Opéra d’Ozarks et du programme d’été de l’American Institute of Musical Studies pour chanteurs en Autriche, et il est récemment retourné à l’Utah Opera comme pianiste invité et coach pour Le nozze di Figaro.

Fondation des États-Unis | Thursday, July 5 @7:30pm : James Hall
21473
single,single-post,postid-21473,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
header hall2

Thursday, July 5 @7:30pm : James Hall

France-site

 

American flutist James Hall returns to FEU, joined by Namibian pianist Willem Van Schalkwyk for a program of predominantly French and American works. Program includes Gaubert’s Nocturne et allegro scherzando, Poulenc’s Flute & Piano Sonata, Samuel Barber’s Canzone, Franck’s Sonata in A Major and Karg-Elert’s Sinfonische Kanzone.

Free admission, reservation required:
Inscription en ligne
Join the Facebook event to recieve a reminder!

Program

 
James Hall, Flute
Willem Van Schalkwyk, Piano

Philippe Gaubert (1879-1941)
Nocturne et allegro scherzando

Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1933)
Sinfonische Kanzone

Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
Sonata
Allegretto malincolico
Cantilena
Presto giocoso

Intermission

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Canzone

César Franck (1822-1890)
Sonata in A Major
Allegro ben moderato
Allegro
Ben moderato
Allegretto poco mosso

Biographies

 
Flutist James Hall has enjoyed a varied and impressive career as an international soloist, chamber and orchestral musician, and teacher. He has performed with Joshua Roman, Eileen Eivers, Jennifer Koh, Paquito D’Rivera, Benny Kim, Carol Wincenc, Allan Vogel, Robert Weirich, Jim Walker, Art Garfunkel, Pink Martini, Carter Enyeart, Catalyst Quartet, Boulder Bach Festival, and the Colorado Symphony. The Kansas City Star called him “red-hot” and the Denver Musical Weekly called his performance “…the best flute performance I have witnessed in my life.”
As a concerto soloist, James has played with the Orquesta Nacional del Paraguay, Kansas City Civic Orchestra, Greeley Philharmonic, Orquesta Nacional de Panamá, Orquesta del Congresso Nacional del Paraguay, and the Southeast Kansas Symphony. After giving his Carnegie Hall debut recital as a winner of Artists International in 2004, James began to receive invitations to perform as a recitalist, and has since played across North, Central, and South America, Africa, Europe, and Asia. He is half of Duo 1610, with pianist Willem Van Schalkwyk, and the two tour the world performing flute and piano works from the baroque to the contemporary.
Hall was founder, flutist, and artistic director of the Chamber Music Society of Kansas City, which opened its debut season to critical acclaim. This group brought together musicians with international profiles, living and working in Kansas City, to give world-class performances of chamber music repertoire for mixed instrumentation. Performing in non-standard concert spaces, such as art galleries, design firms, and patrons’ homes, the CMSKC brought a much needed musical art form to Kansas City audiences, and the concerts were received with great enthusiasm in sold-out performances.
James has been invited to play for chamber music concerts with Loon Lake Live!, the New York based Vail International Dance Festival, the Colorado Symphony’s Beethoven and Brews series, the Pittsburg Solo and Chamber Series, and the Dordt Artist Series. He has also performed and taught at music festivals in the U.S. and in Central and South America. James has been invited to perform as a guest principal flutist with the Boulder Philharmonic, Greeley Philharmonic, Kansas City Chamber Orchestra, and Southeast Kansas Symphony, and has held principal flute positions with the Topeka Symphony and the Missouri Symphony.
As an educator, Hall has been invited to give master classes at national conservatories and music schools throughout the United States, Canada, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, South Africa, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Thailand, and Switzerland.  Since 2009, he has been the professor of flute at the University of Northern Colorado where he has had the great fortune to work with many talented young musicians.
James is a performing artist for Burkart Flutes and performs exclusively on his handmade 10k gold Burkart Elite flute with platinum head joint.

Applauded by the Salt Lake City Tribune for “maturity beyond his years” and “dizzying technical facility,” Namibian pianist Willem van Schalkwyk made his debut with the Namibia National Symphony Orchestra at age fourteen, and by the time he was sixteen he won his first international piano competition in France.
Willem has appeared in concert throughout the United States, Europe, and Southern Africa. Appearances with orchestra include Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto in Namibia, as well as Mozart’s Concertos for two and three pianos in Utah. A regular recitalist, recent highlights include performing at the Greyton Music Festival in South Africa, and presenting a solo recital as part of the National Theatre of Namibia’s 25-year anniversary. As collaborative artist Dr. Van Schalkwyk has performed with many esteemed artists, including instrumentalists from the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, and the Utah Symphony Orchestra. In 2015 he went on a concert tour to Argentina and Uruguay with James Hall.
Dr. Van Schalkwyk holds a Bachelor’s degree in Piano Performance from Brigham Young University, and he graduated from the University of North Texas with his Doctorate in Piano Performance in 2009. At UNT his primary instructors were Joseph Banowetz, Elvia Puccinelli, and Adam Wodnicki. While pursuing his graduate degrees he was the First Prize winner of the Scionti Piano Competition, and was awarded the Audience Prize at the Louisiana International Piano Competition.
As a vocal coach and pianist Willem has served on the music staff of the Santa Fe Opera, the Opera in the Ozarks, and the American Institute of Musical Studies’ summer program for singers in Austria, and he recently returned to the Utah Opera as guest pianist and coach for Le nozze di Figaro.