Fondation des États-Unis | Jeudi 19 octobre à 19h30 : Concert Lara Downes – America Again
21414
single,single-post,postid-21414,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
LD America Again art2

Jeudi 19 octobre à 19h30 : Concert Lara Downes – America Again

United-States-site

 

La FEU a le plaisir d’accueillir la pianiste américaine Lara Downes pour son projet America Again.

America Again: une anthologie de morceaux américains inspirés par le poème de Langston Hughes Let America Be America Again. Laura en fait ressortir le folklore du concert hall, de l’American Songbook, jazz, ragtime et balades folk capturant l’essence du rêve américain et de ses désillusions.

Hughes l’écrivait en 1938, pourtant le propos reste très actuel : laissez l’Amérique être l’Amérique à nouveau – une terre qui n’a jamais été mais doit exister – une terre où tout homme est libre – Laissez l’Amérique être le rêve que les rêveurs ont imaginé – Laissez la être la grande terre de l’amour  (« Let America be America again– The land that never has been yet– And yet must be–the land where every man is free. Let America be the dream the dreamers dreamed–Let it be that great strong land of love”)

Cette anthologie est un hommage à ces générations d’Américains, blanc ou noir, homme ou femme, immigrant ou pionnier, qui ont rêvé l’impossible.

Le programme

American Caprice – Morton Gould (1913-1996)
Shenandoah – Traditional
Deep River – Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
Down By the Riverside – Frederic Rzewski (b. 1938)
At Sea – Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)
Sueño Recurrente – Angelica Negron (b. 1981)
New World A-Comin’ – Duke Ellington (1899-1974)
God Bless the Child – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
I’ll Be Seeing You – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
Ain’t Nobody’s Business If I Do – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
I Loves You, Porgy (arr. Nina Simone) – George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin (1898-1937)

Entrée libre sur réservation :
Inscription en ligne
Rejoignez l’événement Facebook pour recevoir un rappel.

A propos de l’artiste

Pianiste iconoclaste dont le talent artistique a été qualifié de « voluptueux, rêveur et changeant » par le New York Times et « enchanteur » par Fanfare Magazine, Lara Downes prend son inspiration là où elle la trouve, dépassant les étiquettes et les catégories pour rendre sa musique intemporelle mais en même temps en phase, en résonance, avec le monde qui nous entoure. Elle séduit des publics de tous âges grâce à sa présence charismatique, sa curiosité intellectuelle et une maîtrise remarquable de sa voix. C’est une pionnière à la fois sur scène et dans la vie, qui enthousiasme son public grâce à une musicalité que le Huffington Post qualifie d’« addictive – Downes joue avec une sincérité qui vient du cœur ».

Née en Californie et élevée en Europe, Downes  incorpore  à la musique une large et vaste expérience humaine, puisant dans son propre passé africain-américain et ses origines d’Europe de l’Est, ainsi que son éducation itinérante. Son dernier album, America Again (Sono Luminus, 2016) a connu un vif succès. Il a été sélectionné par NPR (National Public Radio) comme l’un des « 10 albums qui ont sauvé 2016 » et a été salué par le Boston Globe comme « un baume pour un pays déchiré par la désunion ». Cet enregistrement, son dixième en solo, représente à bien des égards la maturité d’une artiste qui a trouvé sa voie et frayé son chemin à travers la musique américaine, trouvant l’inspiration dans les héritages de la famille, l’histoire, l’art et la culture pour exprimer la diversité des réalités et des rêves américains. Selon ses propres mots : « J’ai voyagé partout dans ce pays et joué pour des publics très différents, dans des petits endroits comme des grandes villes. J’ai appris que ma musique est un pont qui établit des amitiés inattendues avec des personnes venant d’une Amérique très différente de la mienne. La vie typiquement américaine n’existe pas, et il y a des millions d’histoires américaines. La musique américaine a une histoire compliquée, pleine de contrastes et de contradictions, exactement comme la mienne. J’ai appris que ce qu’il y avait de plus beau en moi venaient de mes contradictions et mes contrastes. »

Evidemment, Lara est à l’aise dans une grande variété de salles de concert, de Carnegie Hall et Kennedy Center au Poisson Rouge (NYC) et Yoshi’s (SF). C’est une activiste et une avocate infatigable lorsqu’il s’agit de jouer pour des publics défavorisés en dehors des salles de concert. La musique de Lara est disponible sur plus de 200 plateformes digitales à travers le monde et ses albums sont appréciés par des auditeurs qui dépassent largement le public classique de base. Lauréate du prestigieux Sphinx Organization Medal of Excellence, Downes, qui a joué un rôle prédominant dans le rayonnement des arts, a été reconnue en tant  qu’interprète, entrepreneure et visionnaire culturelle. Elle aime les collaborations créatives avec des artistes très en vue : du violoncelliste Yo-Yo Ma à la chanteuse Rhiannon Giddens, en passant par le beatboxer Kevin Olusola ou encore l’ex-lauréate de poésie américaine Rita Dove. Ses partenariats avec des compositeurs majeurs couvrent genres et générations pour apporter de nouvelles contributions considérables au répertoire du XXIe siècle.

Lorsqu’elle n’est pas sur la route en train d’enregistrer un album ou de se produire sur scène, Lara est artiste-en-résidence au Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, UC Davis, où elle forme la prochaine génération de musiciens en tant que directrice du Mondavi Center National Young Artists Program. C’est une artiste sponsorisée par Steinway.

Fondation des États-Unis | Thursday, October 19 @7.30pm: Concert Lara Downes – America Again
20480
single,single-post,postid-20480,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
LD America Again art2

Thursday, October 19 @7.30pm: Concert Lara Downes – America Again

France-site

 

The FEU is delighted to welcome the American pianist Lara Downes. This concert is a musical tribute to Langston Hughes  and the dream of an America that « never has been yet, and yet must be »…

« On display here — with all its regret, hope and pride — is America.” – National Public Radio

America Again: a collection of American music inspired by Langston Hughes’s poem Let America Be America Again. Lara mines the traditions of the concert hall, the American Songbook, jazz, ragtime, and folk ballads to capture the essence of the American dream and the American struggle.

As Hughes wrote in 1938, still so true in our time: « Let America be America again– The land that never has been yet– And yet must be–the land where every man is free. Let America be the dream the dreamers dreamed–Let it be that great strong land of love. »

This music is a tribute to the generations of Americans who dream the impossible: black and white, men and women, immigrants and pioneers.

Program

American Caprice – Morton Gould (1913-1996)
Shenandoah – Traditional
Deep River – Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
Down By the Riverside – Frederic Rzewski (b. 1938)
At Sea – Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)
Sueño Recurrente – Angelica Negron (b. 1981)
New World A-Comin’ – Duke Ellington (1899-1974)
God Bless the Child – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
I’ll Be Seeing You – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
Ain’t Nobody’s Business If I Do – Billie Holiday (1915-1959)
I Loves You, Porgy (arr. Nina Simone) – George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin (1898-1937)

Please reserve your free ticket here:
Inscription en ligne
And join the Facebook event.

About the artist

An iconoclastic pianist whose artistry has been called « luscious, moody and dreamy » by the The New York Times and « ravishing » by Fanfare Magazine, Lara Downes takes inspiration where she finds it, going beyond labels and categories to make music that is timeless and timely, starts conversations, and resonates with the world we live in. She engages audiences of all ages with her charismatic presence, intellectual curiosity, and masterful command of her artistic voice. She is a trailblazer onstage and off, inspiring her audiences with a musicality that the Huffington Post has called « addicting – Downes plays with an open, honest heart. »

Born in California and raised in Europe, Downes’ interest in connecting music to a wide and inclusive breadth of human experience mines her own mixed African American and Eastern European background and her peripatetic upbringing. Her recent chart-topping release, America Again (Sono Luminus, 2016) was selected by NPR as one of « 10 Albums that Saved 2016« , and hailed as « a balm for a country riven by disunion » by the Boston Globe. The recording, her tenth solo release, is in many ways the coming-of-age memoir of an artist who has found her own way and carved her own path through American music, taking inspiration from the legacies of family, history, art and culture to express the diversity of American realities and American dreams. In her own words: “I’ve traveled all around this country and played for audiences in small towns and big cities. I’ve learned that my music is a bridge to unexpected friendships with people who come from very different versions of America than my own. There is no such thing as a typical American life, and there are millions of American stories. American music has a complicated history, full of contrasts and contradictions, just like my own, and I’ve learned that what is most beautiful about me comes down to my contradictions and contrasts.”

Not surprisingly, Lara is comfortable in a diverse range of venues, from Carnegie Hall and the Kennedy Center to Le Poisson Rouge (NYC) and Yoshi’s (SF), and is a tireless advocate and activist for underserved audiences beyond the concert hall. Lara’s music is available on over 200 digital platforms throughout the world, and her recordings are beloved by listeners far outside of the core classical audience. A laureate of the prestigious Sphinx Organization Medal of Excellence, Downes has been recognized as a leader in expanding the reach of the arts, as a performer, an entrepreneur, and a cultural visionary. She enjoys creative collaborations with a range of leading artists, from cellist Yo-Yo Ma to singer Rhiannon Giddens, beatboxer Kevin Olusola, and former U.S. Poet Laureate Rita Dove, and her partnerships with prominent composers span genres and generations to bring significant new contributions to the 21st Century repertoire.

When not on the road recording or performing, Lara serves as Artist in Residence at the Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, UC Davis, where she mentors the next generation of young musicians as Director of the Mondavi Center National Young Artists Program. She is a Steinway Artist.