Fondation des États-Unis | Sunday, October 28 @5pm : Rendez-vous Musical #46
single,single-post,postid-22141,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
couverture rendez vous musical

Sunday, October 28 @5pm : Rendez-vous Musical #46

The musicians in residence and Harriet Hale Woolley scholars are looking forward to seeing you again on Sunday, October 28 for the second Rendez-vous Musical of the season. This informal concert series is an opportunity for them to present the pieces they are working on, and for the audience to (re)discover classical, contemporary and sometimes even new compositions in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Free entry, join the Facebook event!
Next concert : Sunday, November 18

The Program

Sutermeister – Capriccio for unaccompanied clarinet (1945)
Béla Kovács – Hommage à Carl Maria von Weber (1994)
Elias Rodriguez, clarinet

Francois Rabbath – Trombes D’eau
Rebecca Lawrence, double bass

Béla Bartók – 3 Romanian Folk Dances
Isaac Albéniz – Granada Op. 47, No. 1
Antonín Dvořák – Humoresque, Op. 101, No. 7
Sergei Rachmaninov – Vocalise Op. 34, No. 14
Enrique Granados – Danza espanola: Andaluza Op. 37, No. 5
Andrew Briggs, cello, Sergio Herrera, guitar

About the musicians

Originally from Colorado, Andrew Briggs completed a master’s degree in cello performance at the prestigious Juilliard School. Open to all genres, he performs Baroque to contemporary style, and has had the opportunity to practice his talents internationally. Andrew has been a featured soloist at the Aspen Music Festival, the Amsterdam Cello Biennale, and the Holland Music Sessions; an Artist in Residence at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh; a member of Axiom Contemporary Ensemble, the Madison Bach Musicians, and the Colorado Symphony; and a guest artist at music series in Chicago, New York, and Paris. Andrew is a recipient of the 2018-2019 Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship.

Sergio Herrera is a composer-guitarist currently based in Paris. He received his B.M. in Music composition and theory from Florida State University where he studied composition with Dr. Clifton Callender and jazz theory and arranging with Bill Peterson. During his time at Florida State, Sergio was a recipient of both the Presser Scholarship and the David Ward-Steinman undergraduate composition award. He has written for a wide variety of ensembles ranging from chamber to jazz big band. Distinguished by an ever evolving rhythmic vitality, Sergio’s music synthesizes elements of jazz and Latin-American music to create a uniquely personal compositional voice. Sergio has attended festivals such as the TALIS Music Festival in Switzerland and the EAMA Nadia Boulanger Academy in Paris where he worked with composers Miguel del Aguila and David Conte. Sergio was granted the Fondation des Etats-Unis Harriet Hale Woolley scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year. He is currently studying harmony, composition, and musical interpretation with Narcis Bonet at the Schola Cantorum de Paris.

Clarinetist Elias Rodriguez made his national solo debut at the age of 16, after performing on a live broadcast of NPR’s « From the Top. » He has since appeared in international music festivals throughout the Americas and Europe, from the Grafenegg Festival in Austria to teaching masterclasses in Cali, Colombia. He is an alumnus of the New York based ensemble, «The Orchestra Now,» with which he has performed as a soloist on New York public radio, recorded a CD on Hyperion Records, and played a concert series at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York City. Elias was awarded the Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship and an artist residency at the Fondation Des États-Unis.

Rebecca Lawrence is a postgenre bassist who’s creative interests range from contemporary and traditional classical music, experimental, pop, and folk music to modern art and social justice. She earned her Bachelor’s in 2018 from the University of Southern California and currently is studying in Paris at the Institut Rabbath International Paris. Significant teachers include François Rabbath, David Allen Moore, Paul Ellison and Jordan Anderson.