Fondation des États-Unis | Dimanche 8 décembre à 17h : Rendez-vous Musical #64
25444
single,single-post,postid-25444,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
couverture rendez vous musical 64

Dimanche 8 décembre à 17h : Rendez-vous Musical #64

Retrouvez les musiciens en résidence et boursiers Harriet Hale Woolley le 8 décembre à 17h pour le dernier Rendez-vous Musical de l’année 2019 ! 
Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles. Rejoignez l’événement Facebook pour recevoir un rappel !

Au programme

Darius Milhaud (1892-1974)
Sonatine Pastorale, op. 383
I. Entrée
II. Romance
III. Gigue
~ Olivia Kugiya, violon

Béla Kovács (1937- )
Hommage à J.S. Bach
~ Elias Rodriguez, clarinette

Reinhold Glière (1875-1956)
Concerto pour harpe et orchestre, op. 74
II. Tema con variazoni
~ Olivia Hyoyeon Kim, harpe & Edo Frenkel, piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Sonate pour violon et piano no 1 en la majeur, op. 13
I. Allegro molto
~ Nicole León, violon & Suejin Jung, piano

Jules Massenet (1842-1912)
« Il est doux, il est bon » de Hérodiade
~ Solange Adamson, soprano & Suejin Jung, piano

Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013)
Trois Préludes
I. D’ombre et de silence
~ Daniel Schreiner, piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Préludes, op. 103
V. En Ré mineur
VI. En Mi bémol mineur
~ Daniel Schreiner, piano

Les musiciens en résidence

Soprano lyrique, Solange Adamson chante une variété de rôles d’opéra aux États-Unis et en Europe. Une interprète avide de musique contemporaine, elle a créé les rôles de Sor Andrea dans l’opéra Juana de Carla Lucero et The Queen dans The Emperor’s New Clothes de Nicky Sohn, et a développé son propre projet avec la compositrice Gabrielle Owens pour créer un cycle de chansons basé sur la poésie de la trobairitz Beatriz de Dia. En 2017-18, elle a interprété les roles d’Indiana Elliott dans The Mother of Us All de Virgil Thompson et Dardano dans Amadigi d’Haendel avec Opera UCLA et l’Abbesse dans Suor Angelica avec le Center for Opera Studies en Italie. Actuellement étudiante de Vladimir Chernov et Olga Toporkova, elle a reçu une bourse de l’École Normale de Musique pour poursuivre un diplôme de perfectionnement à Paris.

Edo Frenkel est un jeune chef d’orchestre, compositeur et pianiste « fougueux » (LA Times), qui s’est rapidement fait remarquer pour ses « performances à la fois intimes et intenses » (Opera Magazine). Il a été chef d’orchestre invité de LUDWIG, Baltimore Symphony, Ensemble Meitar, Ensemble Mise-en, et s’est produit avec des groupes importants tels que Tonkünstler Orchester-Neider Östereich, Ensemble Intercontemporain, des membres de New World Symphony, et IEMA. Il s’est produit aux festivals d’Ojai, d’Aldeburgh et de Lucerne. Edo Frenkel a été chef d’orchestre adjoint de Sir Simon Rattle, Brad Lubman, Franck Ollu et Barbara Hannigan. En plus de travailler comme assistant de Hannigan, il a été répétiteur, entraîneur et claviériste pour la tournée européenne/américaine de LUDWIG. De plus, il a collaboré avec Barbara Hannigan en tant que pianiste de répétition sur le projet Satie : Socrate au Festival de la Ruhrtriennale et au Park Ave. Armory.

La pianiste coréenne-américaine Suejin Jung s’est produite dans des salles prestigieuses tels que le Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Steinway Hall, le Poisson Rouge ainsi que pour des fondations comme les fondations Stecher et Horowitz. Ses temps forts de la saison 2019-2020 comprennent une résidence d’artiste à la Fondation des Etats-Unis à Paris en tant que bénéficiaire d’une bourse d’études Harriet Hale Woolley, des performances au Weil Hall de Carnegie Hall et une présence en tant qu’artiste invité au Festival International de Musique de Chambre de Vršac, en Serbie. Ses interviews et performances ont été diffusées en direct sur la radio WWFM ainsi que dans le documentaire diffusé à l’échelle nationale Piano Forte sur PBS. Elle a étudié à la Julliard School et est candidate au titre de Doctor of Musical Arts à la Mason Gross School of the Arts de Rutgers University. Elle poursuit actuellement son stage de perfectionnement à l’Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris avec la célèbre pianiste française Anne Queffélec.

Olivia Kim, harpiste récompensée à l’internationale, a joué dans le monde entier en tant que soliste et en collaboration avec des orchestres renommés et des chambristes. Elle a été soliste avec la League of Strings lors de leur tournée en Chine et a été invitée à donner un concert au World Harp Congress à Hong Kong. Elle est régulièrement invitée en tant qu’harpiste au Tamnak Prathom Harp Centre à Bangkok, en Thaïlande, pour donner des récitals et des masterclass. Olivia a obtenu son diplôme de Master en harpe et pédagogie au Peabody Conservatory en 2017 avec une bourse complète et a reçu le prix Harold Randolph à la fin de ses études. Elle étudie actuellement à l’École Normale de Musique de Paris sous la tutelle de Nicholas Tulliez.

C’est à l’âge impressionnant de 16 ans que le clarinettiste Elias Rodriguez délivre son premier solo national. Il a depuis participé à des festivals de musique internationaux dans les Amériques et en Europe, du festival Grafenegg en Autriche à l’enseignement de cours de maître à Cali, en Colombie. Il est un ancien de l’ensemble « The Orchestra Now » basé à New York, avec lequel il s’est produit en soliste à la radio publique new-uorkaise, a enregistré un CD avec Hyperion Records et a donné une série de concerts à Carnegie Hall et au Lincoln Center à New York City. Elias a reçu la bourse Harriet Hale Woolley et une résidence d’artiste à la Fondation des États-Unis.

Musicien, compositeur et artiste interdisciplinaire avec divers intérêts, Daniel Schreiner continue de façonner une carrière éclectique. Ses engagements collaboratifs récents incluent des concerts avec les membres du JACK Quartet à New Music on the Point à Vermont, des récitals avec Shuhui Zhou sur l’Études de Debussy et Ligeti à New York et Bard College, et des performances en tant qu’ancien étudiant invité à Iota Festival of New Music de Williams College. Daniel est l’un des membres fondateurs de KnoxTrio, un trio nouvellement créé de flûte, violoncelle, et piano dédié à la performance du répertoire contemporain expérimental. Daniel vit actuellement à Paris, en étudiant avec Billy Eidi à La Schola Cantorum ; il a reçu la bourse Harriet Hale Woolley et une résidence d’artiste à la Fondation des États-Unis.

Les musiciens invités

La violoniste Nicole León a joué dans des salles de concert à travers les États-Unis et la France, telles que le Carnegie Hall, le Lincoln Center, les Nations Unies, la Salle Pleyel, la Salle Cortot et la Philharmonie de Paris. Elle a également joué dans de prestigieux festivals de musique tels que le programme Perlman Music, le festival de musique Aspen, Music at Menlo et le festival de Fontainebleau en France. Nicole est diplômée de la Juilliard School, où elle a étudié à Itzhak Perlman, et a obtenu un diplôme d’artiste au Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMDP). Durant ses études, Nicole s’est lancée dans un projet interdisciplinaire de trois ans avec le département de danse du conservatoire afin d’explorer le lien entre musique et danse. Nicole a également enregistré le Concerto pour violon Brahms avec l’Orchestre Lauréat du Conservatoire de Paris. En 2016, Nicole a remporté un poste de tutti au sein du Paris Chamber Orchestra.

Fondation des États-Unis | Sunday, 8 December @ 5pm: Rendez-vous Musical #64
23733
single,single-post,postid-23733,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
couverture rendez vous musical 64

Sunday, 8 December @ 5pm: Rendez-vous Musical #64

The musicians in residence and Harriet Hale Woolley scholars are looking forward to seeing you in the Grand Salon on Sunday, December 8 for the last Rendez-vous Musical of the year 2019!

Free entry, join the Facebook event!

The Program

Darius Milhaud (1892-1974)
Sonatine Pastorale, op. 383
I. Entrée
II. Romance
III. Gigue
~ Olivia Kugiya, violin

Béla Kovács (1937- )
Hommage à J.S. Bach
~ Elias Rodriguez, clarinet

Reinhold Glière (1875-1956)
Concerto pour harpe et orchestre, op. 74
II. Tema con variazoni
~ Olivia Hyoyeon Kim, harp & Daniel Schreiner, piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Sonate pour violon et piano no 1 en la majeur, op. 13
I. Allegro molto
~ Nicole León, violin & Suejin Jung, piano

Jules Massenet (1842-1912)
« Il est doux, il est bon » de Hérodiade
~ Solange Adamson, soprano & Suejin Jung, piano

Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013)
Trois Préludes
I. D’ombre et de silence
~ Daniel Schreiner, piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Préludes, op. 103
V. En Ré mineur
VI. En Mi bémol mineur
~ Daniel Schreiner, piano

The Musicians in Residence

Lyric soprano Solange Adamson sings a variety of operatic roles in the US and Europe. A student of Vladimir Chernov and Olga Toporkova, she began studies this fall at École Normale de Musique Alfred Cortot, in the Cycle de perfectionnement. An avid performer of new music, she collaborated with composer Gabrielle Owens to create a song cycle based on the 13th century poetry of Beatriz de Dia which premiered in 2019. With Opera UCLA, she created the roles of Sor Andrea in Carla Lucero’s opera Juana, and the Queen in Nicki Sohn’s The Emperor’s New Clothes. In the 2017/18 season, she performed the roles of Indiana Elliott in Virgil Thompson’s The Mother of Us All, Dardano in Handel’s Amadigi, both with Opera UCLA, and the Abbess in Puccini’s Suor Angelica with the Center for Opera Studies in Italy.

Edo Frenkel is a « feisty » (LA Times) young conductor, composer, and pianist, quickly gaining attention for his « performances of both intimacy and intensity » (Opera Magazine). He has guest conducted LUDWIG, Baltimore Symphony, Ensemble Meitar, Ensemble Mise-en, and has appeared in performances with such notable groups as Tonkünstler Orchester-Neider Östereich, Ensemble Intercontemporain, members of New World Symphony, and IEMA. He has performed in the Ojai, Aldeburgh, and Lucerne Festivals. Mr. Frenkel has worked as the assistant conductor to Sir Simon Rattle, Brad Lubman, Franck Ollu, and Barbara Hannigan. In addition to working as Hannigan’s assistant, he served as répétiteur, coach, and keyboard player for the LUDWIG European/US tour. Additionally, he collaborated with Barbara Hannigan as rehearsal pianist on the Satie: Socrate project at the Ruhrtriennale Festival and at the Park Ave. Armory.

Korean American pianist Suejin Jung has appeared in concert at prestigious venues such as Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Steinway Hall, Count Basie Theatre, le Poisson Rouge, and other opportunities through the Stecher and Horowitz Foundation. Highlights of 2019-2020 season include an artist residency at the Fondation des États-Unis in Paris, France as a recipient of the Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship, performance at Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall, and guest artist appearance at the Vršac International Chamber Music Festival in Vršac, Serbia. Her interview and performances have been broadcasted live on WWFM radio and aired nationally in a documentary Piano Forte on PBS. She studied at The Juilliard School and is a candidate of DMA at the Mason Gross School of the Arts of Rutgers University. Currently, she is pursuing a stage de perfectionnement at the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris where she is working closely with Anne Queffélec.

An international prize-winning harpist, Olivia Kim, has performed worldwide both as a soloist and collaboratively with renowned orchestras, and chamber musicians. She was a featured soloist with the League of Strings on their China tour and was invited to present a concert at the World Harp Congress in Hong Kong. She is a regular guest harpist at the Tamnak Prathom Harp Centre in Bangkok, Thailand, to give recitals and masterclasses. Olivia earned her Master’s degree in harp performance/pedagogy from the Peabody Conservatory in 2017 with a full scholarship and was awarded the Harold Randolph prize upon graduation. She currently studies at École Normale de Musique de Paris under the tutelage of Nicholas Tulliez.

Clarinetist Elias Rodriguez made his national solo debut at the age of 16, after performing on a live broadcast of NPR’s « From the Top. » He has since appeared in international music festivals throughout the Americas and Europe, from the Grafenegg Festival in Austria to teaching masterclasses in Cali, Colombia. He is an alumnus of the New York based ensemble, «The Orchestra Now,» with which he has performed as a soloist on New York public radio, recorded a CD on Hyperion Records, and played a concert series at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York City. Elias was awarded the Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship and an artist residency at the Fondation des États-Unis.

A musician, composer, and interdisciplinary artist of diverse interests, Daniel Schreiner is continuing to fashion an eclectic career. Recent collaborative engagements include concerts with members of the JACK Quartet at New Music on the Point in Vermont; joint recitals of Debussy and Ligeti Etudes with Shuhui Zhou in New York and at Bard College; and performances as guest alumnus at Williams College’s Iota Festival of New Music. Daniel is a founding member of KnoxTrio, a newly-formed flute, cello, and piano trio dedicated to experimental contemporary repertoire, whose successful first season commissioned three world premieres by living composers responding to the environment and climate change. A recipient of the Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship from the Fondation des États-Unis, Daniel currently lives in Paris, France, studying at La Schola Cantorum with Billy Eidi.

Guest Musicians

Violinist Nicole León has performed in concert halls throughout the United States and France, such as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, the United Nations, Salle Pleyel, Salle Cortot and the Philharmonie de Paris. She has also performed at prestigious music festivals such as the Perlman Music Program, the Aspen Music Festival, Music at Menlo, and the Fontainebleau Festival in France. Nicole holds degrees from the Juilliard School, where she was a student of Itzhak Perlman, and an Artist Diploma from the Paris Conservatory (CNSMDP). During her studies, Nicole embarked on a three-year interdisciplinary project with the conservatory’s dance department to explore the link between music and dance. Nicole also recorded the Brahms Violin Concerto with the Paris Conservatory’s Laureate Orchestra. In 2016, Nicole won a tutti position with the Paris Chamber Orchestra.