Fondation des États-Unis | Jeudi 28 mars à 19h30 : Concert – Lauren Libaw, Daniel Schlosberg et Yaya Chang « Three Americans in Paris »
23901
single,single-post,postid-23901,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
affiche three americans in Paris - Copie

Jeudi 28 mars à 19h30 : Concert – Lauren Libaw, Daniel Schlosberg et Yaya Chang « Three Americans in Paris »

La soprano Lauren Libaw ( résidente à la FEU et boursière Harriet Hale Woolley en 2009-2010), le compositeur et pianiste Daniel Schlosberg et l’artiste Yaya Chang fêteront 10 ans de vie dans la ville lumière lors d’une soirée d’art et de musique intitulée “Trois Américains à Paris”. Le programme musical inclura la première représentation des nouvelles mélodies de Daniel Schlosberg sur la poésie de Lydia Davis, des mélodies de Charles Ives, des chansons classiques du cabaret français, et des oeuvres issues du Great American Songbook, de la comédie musicale contemporaine et de films américains par Herman, Sondheim, Tesori et Yeston. L’artiste Yaya Chang illuminera l’événement en présentant une sélection d’œuvres inspirées par les musiques jouées au cours de la soirée.

Entrée gratuite, réservation vivement conseillée :
Inscription en ligne
Rejoignez l’événement Facebook !

A propos des artistes 

Née en Californie, Lauren Libaw est de nationalité italienne et américaine. Elle a débuté ses études lyriques à la maîtrise du Los Angeles Opera et du Los Angeles Philharmonic. Étudiante à Yale, elle a remporté les deux concours de musique de l’université, trois prix académiques, et le Sudler Prize for the Arts, la plus haute distinction artistique de l’université. Elle étudie ensuite au Royal College of Music de Londres, et dans les masterclass de l’Aldeburgh Festival, l’Aspen Music Festival, la Fondation Royaumont, et de l’ensemble baroque parisien Opéra Fuoco. Elle remporte des prix dans plusieurs concours, dont le Solveig International Opera Competition, le Loren L. Zachary Competition et les Los Angeles Music Center Spotlight Awards. Lauren habite aujourd’hui à Paris.
La talentueuse soprano a été célébrée par les critiques du New York Times et du New Yorker pour sa voix “envoûtante et pleine de brio” et pour “la chaleur de son timbre et l’intensité de son expression”. Elle est diplômée de l’Université de Yale et du Royal College of Music de Londres. Lauren a fait ses débuts en Europe au Palais de Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles dans le rôle de l’Ange (Jephtha), puis a participé à de nombreuses productions en France, notamment à l’Opéra Royal de Versailles et au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. À Londres, elle est invitée à donner des concerts au National Gallery, Royal Albert Hall, Victoria & Albert Museum, et Handel House. Elle se produit également en récital à Aix-en-Provence, Bruxelles, Florence, Oxford, New York et Los Angeles.
Ses rôles récents incluent Cendrillon (Cendrillon) au Tel Aviv-Yafo Opera Festival, Nannetta (Falstaff) à Royaumont, Norina (Don Pasquale) au Rye Arts Festival, Queen of Sheba (Solomon) au Crosseny Festival, et Lauretta (Gianni Schicchi) au Den Norske Opera, ainsi que Susanna (Le Nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Rosmene (Imeneo) et Gretel (Hansel und Gretel) au Royal College of Music et Tirésias (Les Mamelles de Tirésias), Constance (Dialogues des Carmélites), Semele (Semele), Princèsse (L’Enfant et les Sortilèges), et Isifile (Giasone) à Yale. Elle interprète également des rôles d’opéras contemporains, en tant que Geraldine (A Hand of Bridge) à l’Aspen Music Festival, Amy March (Little Women) au Théâtre de Bruges, Endymion (Keepers of the Night) à Los Angeles, et Sister (A Country Doctor) à Yale University. Lauren chante aussi dans des comédies musicales, dans les rôles d’Amalia (She Loves Me), Christine (The Phantom of the Opera), Cosette (Les Misérables), Eliza (My Fair Lady), Julie (Carousel), Magnolia (Showboat), Maria (The Sound of Music), Maria (West Side Story), Marsinah (Kismet), Rapunzel (Into the Woods) et Sarah (Guys & Dolls). Suivez Lauren sur Facebook et Twitter !

La musique de Daniel Schlosberg, compositeur et pianiste, a été jouée par le Dover Quartet, l’Orchestre de Minnesota, l’Orchestre symphonique de Nashville, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Albany, l’Orchestre du Cabrillo Festival, l’Ensemble Lorelei, le Quatuor Amphion, l’Ensemble Contemporain d’Aspen et Antico Moderno dans des lieux tels que le Carnegie Hall, le National Sawdust, le Poisson Rouge, le Royal Albert Hall, l’Institut des Arts de Detroit, le Festival de Théâtre de Williamstown, et le Festival de musique moderne de Beijing. Daniel remporte en 2014 une bourse Charles Ives de l’Académie américaine des Arts et des Lettres, ainsi que deux fois les ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. Sa musique a été acclamée par le New York Times et par WYNC’s Soundcheck. Parmi ses projets récents figurent une oeuvre de 30 minutes pour l’Orchestre symphonique d’Albany qui fera partie de leur projet Water Music NY, qui fêtera le bicentennaire du Canal de l’Erie, une fantaisie inspirée par la musique de Twin Peaks pour le Dover Quartet, une adaptation opératique-théâtrale de Once Five Years Pass de Federico García Lorca pour le Festival de Théâtre de Williamstown, et des commissions pour la Chamber Music Northwest, BodyVox, la programme CULTIVATE à la Maison de Aaron Copland, et le 50ème anniversaire de l’Orchestre symphonique de Yale. Daniel mène en parallèle de ses activités de compositeur une carrière internationale en tant que pianiste. Il est regulièrement invité par la Chamber Music Northwest et NOVUS NY, et se produit avec des homologues tels queDavid Shifrin, Peter Wiley, Ani Kavafian, et les Imani Winds. Daniel est le co-fondateur de l’ensemble des compositeurs-interprètes Invisible Anatomy, le co-directeur de musique de la Heartbeat Opera, et membre de l’ensemble de musique de chambre Cantata Profana. Il est titulaire d’un BA du Yale College et d’un MM,  un MMA et d’un DMA du Yale School of Music. Quand il n’est pas en train de composer et de jouer de la musique, Daniel fait des cookies. Son travail a été célébré comme “riche en détailles mais délicat” par le New York Times et “spirituel” et “ingénieux” par le Wall Street Journal.

Yaya Chang est une artiste franco-américano-chinoise. Élevée à New York et à Hong Kong, elle vit aujourd’hui à Paris (Belleville). Son travail est inspiré par son identité multi-culturelle, les endroits divers qu’elle considère comme chez elle, et ses personalités multiples qui ne s’accordent pas toujours. Ariane, connue par le nom Yaya, travaille avec les pastels, les huiles, l’acrylic, l’aquarelle et l’encre. Un de ses récents projets est « Routine: art, for her, is the spontaneous burst way from the daily grind of life ». Yaya, autodidacte, est convaincue qu’il ne faut pas avoir une licence en art pour être créatrice. Suivez-la sur Instagram !

Fondation des États-Unis | Thursday, March 28 @ 7:30pm : Concert – Lauren Libaw, Daniel Schlosberg & Yaya Chang “Three Americans in Paris”
22561
single,single-post,postid-22561,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive
Site

Thursday, March 28 @ 7:30pm : Concert – Lauren Libaw, Daniel Schlosberg & Yaya Chang “Three Americans in Paris”

Soprano Lauren Libaw (FEU resident and Harriet Hale Woolley scholar 2009-2010), composer and pianist Daniel Schlosberg and artist Yaya Chang celebrate 10 years in the City of Light with a special evening of art and song : “Three Americans in Paris”. The musical program will include the premiere of a newly commissioned song cycle by Daniel Schlosberg on poems by Lydia Davis, songs by Charles Ives, standards from the French cabaret tradition, and selections from the Great American Songbook, contemporary musical theater and American film by Herman, Sondheim, Tesori and Yeston. Artist Yaya Chang presents a vernissage of work inspired by the evening’s music to illuminate the evening.

Free admission, advance reservation is recommended:
Inscription en ligne
Join our Facebook event to receive a reminder!

About the artists

Soprano Lauren Libaw has been praised for her sparkling, “bright-toned” voice (New York Times) as well as her “warmth of tone and intensity of expression” (The New Yorker). She is a graduate of Yale University and the Royal College of Music, London. Lauren made her debut at the Palais de Beaux Arts, Brussels as the Angel (Jephtha) and has since sung in venues including the Opéra Royal de Versailles, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Royal Albert Hall Elgar Room, the National Gallery London, and Handel House. She has been presented in recital in Aix-en-Provence, Brussels, Florence, London, Los Angeles, New York, and Paris.
Recent roles include Cendrillon (Cendrillon) for the Tel Aviv-Yafo Opera Festival, Nannetta (Falstaff) for the Fondation Royaumont, Norina (Don Pasquale) for the Rye Arts Festival, Lauretta (Gianni Schicchi) for Den Norske Opera, Queen of Sheba (Solomon) for the Crosseny Festival, Susanna (Le Nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Rosmene (Imeneo) and Gretel (Hansel und Gretel) at the Royal College of Music and Tirésias (Les Mamelles de Tirésias), Constance (Dialogues des Carmélites), Semele (Semele), Princèsse (L’Enfant et les Sortilèges), and Isifile (Giasone) at Yale. Projects in contemporary music include Amy March (Little Women) at the Théâtre Lyrique de Bruges, Geraldine (A Hand of Bridge) at the Aspen Music Festival, Endymion (Ash’s Keepers of the Night) at the Alex Theater, Hermia (Lycke and Berv’s PUCK) at the Royal College of Music, the Sister (Schlosberg’s A Country Doctor) at Yale University, Mechem’s To An Absent Love at San Francisco’s Forest Hill Musical Days, and the London and New York premieres of Schlosberg’s Songs of Sorrow and Solitude, a cycle written especially for her. Lauren’s musical theater roles include Amalia (She Loves Me), Eliza (My Fair Lady), Julie (Carousel), Magnolia (Showboat), Maria (The Sound of Music), Maria (West Side Story), Sarah (Guys & Dolls), Cosette (Les Misérables) and Christine (Phantom of the Opera).
Raised in Pasadena, California, Lauren received her earliest training as a member of the Los Angeles Children’s Chorus, singing as a chorister with Los Angeles Opera and the LA Philharmonic. As a student at Yale University, she sang leading roles and won the concerto and recital competitions, three academic prizes and the Sudler Prize for the Arts. She received her Masters degree from the Royal College of Music, London, and was a member of the young artist programs of the Aldeburgh Festival, the Aspen Music Festival, the Fondation Royaumont and Opéra Fuoco. A dual citizen of Italy and the United States, Lauren makes her home in Paris. Follow Lauren on Facebook  & Twitter !

The music of composer and pianist Daniel Schlosberg has been performed by the the Dover Quartet, Minnesota Orchestra, Nashville Symphony Orchestra, Albany Symphony Orchestra, Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, Lorelei Ensemble, Amphion Quartet, Aspen Contemporary Ensemble, and Antico Moderno, at venues including Carnegie Hall, National Sawdust, (le) poisson rouge, Royal Albert Hall, Detroit Institute of Arts, Williamstown Theatre Festival, and the Beijing Modern Music Festival. Daniel received a 2014 Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters as well as two ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. His music has been featured in The New York Times and on WNYC’s Soundcheck. Recent projects include a 30-minute work for the Albany Symphony’s Water Music NY project commemorating the bicentennial of the Erie Canal, a fantasy on the music of Twin Peaks for the Dover Quartet, an operatic-theatrical adaptation of Federico García Lorca’s Once Five Years Pass for Williamstown Theatre Festival, and works for Chamber Music Northwest, BodyVox, the CULTIVATE program at the Aaron Copland House, and the Yale Symphony Orchestra’s 50th Anniversary. Daniel continues to perform around the world, appearing regularly with Chamber Music Northwest and NOVUS NY and collaborating with such luminaries as David Shifrin, Peter Wiley, Ani Kavafian, and the Imani Winds. He co-founded the composer-performer ensemble Invisible Anatomy, serves as co-Music-Director of Heartbeat Opera, and is a core member of the chamber ensemble Cantata Profana. He holds a BA from Yale College, MM, MMA, and DMA from the Yale School of Music. He enjoys baking cookies, and his work has been described as “richly detailed yet delicate” by The New York Times and “witty” and “ingenious” by The Wall Street Journal.

Yaya Chang is a French-American-Chinese artist, raised in New York and Hong Kong and based today in Paris (in Belleville).  Her artwork draws inspiration from her multiple and at times conflicting cultures, homes, and personalities. Ariane, who goes by Yaya, works in pastel, oil, acrylic, watercolor and ink. A recent focus has been routine: art, for her, is the spontaneous burst away from the daily grind of life. She is self-taught, firm in the conviction that you don’t need a degree to create art. Follow Yaya on Instagram !